top of page

Awards and Recognition

Doña Teodora Alonzo Award (1993)


Doña Teodora Alonzo award is given to an individual who has provided tremendous influence and invaluable contributions to the association’s over-all achievements and to the growth and uplift of education as a whole. This award is named after Dona Teodora Alonzo, the mother and first teacher of the Philippine national hero, Jose Rizal. As his first teacher, she built the first framework and foundation that helped make Rizal a truly outstanding man of remarkable intelligence and courage.



Ulirang Guro Award (2008)


America’s Finest Teacher Award – Ulirang Guro confers honor upon the teaching profession by affording special recognition to educators who manifest profound commitment and exemplary service to the development of the youth through quintessential competence, remarkable dedication to their work and effective educational leadership. It focuses on Filipinos or Americans (of Filipino descent, or by affinity, or marital relations to a Filipino spouse), who have made significant contributions to the teaching profession by raising the standards of pedagogy through their meaningful, progressive, and creative teaching practices, which in general, benefit their school community and the school children they serve. 



Crystal Apple Service Award (2014)


AFTA honors the untiring efforts of Filipino and American teachers by awarding them with the Crystal Apple Service Award.  The award is given biennially to teachers at various grade levels who have rendered 5, 10, 15, 20 or more years of dedicated service to the teaching profession in the United States. 



Dangal ng Lahi Award (2014)    


The highest honor given by AFTA for outstanding accomplishment and service by an individual to the teaching profession. The awardees give honor not only to Fil-Am teachers in America but to our Philippine heritage as well.



TANGLAW Award (2014)


AFTA bestows the Taglay ay NagniningningsaGaling, Lingkod ay Wagas Award (TANGLAW) to retirees who have successfully completed their career as teachers in the United States. AFTA is honored to acknowledge their many years of dedicated service in contributing to the success of their students. (Retiree must no longer be in the active teaching service at the time of nomination).



LEADS Award (2015)


The Leadership in Educational Administration Distinguished Service award (LEADS) recognizes and honors Filipino-American school administrators such as principals, assistant principals, school directors, and others who create exceptional educational environments for their faculty, staff, and students. This award will serve as inspiration to thousands of Filipino teachers in the U.S. to take risks and accept the bigger challenge of leading their educational institutions. (Awardee must have been an administrator for at least 3 years at the time of nomination).



PERLAS Award (2015)


 PERLAS, which stands for Phil-Am Exemplary Responsive Leadership Award for Students confers special recognition to students with exemplary and responsive leadership, academic performance and civic involvement. This award is given to a middle school, high school, or college student of Filipino descent, who is currently enrolled or has just graduated from a public or private school, college, or university in the United States.

bottom of page